My Strange Addiction

Posted: January 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

A few years ago I was hanging out with some friends at a small house party. You know one of those after-parties that organically evolves at the end of a night of dancing and drinking and no one wants the night to end? So after the bar closed we all went to the closest house. Well, my friend Shawn, who became the host of this impromptu shin-dig, also became the DJ by default. There was quite an ecclectic mix on his playlist, but most of which I had already been familiar with. Then all of a sudden I heard the sweet melodic stylings of what would become…… my strange addictionFrench Hip Hop, Jazz, and R&B!

I know what you’re thinking, “Allison I didn’t know you spoke French!”, to which I would respond, “That’s because I don’t speak French”. I have absolutely no clue what they are saying and yet, Voila, it completely captivates me. What surprises me most is that traveling to France was never high on my ‘to-do’ list…..until recently.

Now all I can do is think about walking the sexy mysterious streets of the an arrondissement catching spontaneous concerts by street performers. The same streets where Josephine Baker and Edith Piaf once performed. Or enjoying a cafe and pan au chocolat in a patisserie while a funky jazz quartet plays in the background. I mean can you imagine a more perfect day?!?! It is the quintessential European experience!

These examples are a little more modern than the jazzy example that I described above. But this is also closer to what I listen to now and what got me hooked in the first place.

And when you thought I was just crazy enough……..I am also completely fascinated with the Spanish Guitar! If you aren’t familiar check out the movies Desperado or Vicki Christina Barcelona. Its amazing!

This time imagine yourself in Seville, Spain. Late at night in the belly of a dark underground club drinking Sangria and being hypnotized by la musica de  Rodrigo&Gabriela while a flamenco dancer performs.  Or imagine yourself attending a bull-fight in the world-famous El Plaza de Toros de la Maestranza. The excitement of the event is rivaled by the intensity of a guitarist playing a Paso Doble as the caballeros and the matador enter the arena.


 This couple is ridiculous! If this doesn’t get you completely mesmerized, then you must be dead inside!

 

Comments
  1. yilvak says:

    Love Your post. I like Rodrigo and Gabriela very much. Always the guitar.

Leave a Reply

