Free your mind and the rest will follow!

Posted: October 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

I think I probably should have done something more creative in my life. If my mom were still alive I think she would have encouraged me do more artsy things than I have. No one really encouraged me in any direction. No one told to be a doctor, lawyer, or businesswoman. All I heard was, “stay out of trouble” and “don’t get pregnant”.

My mother used to sew, crochet and write in a little green army journal.  I used to have crochet ponchos in every color to wear to church, and matching booties to wear at home. I even had homemade stuffed animals. One of my most treasured possessions is a quilt that she made. Making the squares would help to take her mind off of feeling sick while she battled cancer.

In elementary school, I tested into some of those “gifted” programs where we created commercials, I wrote a mime (seriously, it won a state competition), I sang in traveling choirs, and was often acknowledged by teachers and principals for stories that I wrote in middle school. My cousin and I used to spend hours reading fiction like The Boxcar Children and The Babysitter’s Club. And then things just kind of died off. In college, I tried to minor in Comparative Literature but I would have had to stay for a 5th year, so I finished about 2 courses shy. I did participate in 2003 Vagina Monologues performance on campus, where i donned a southern accent!  I’ve always been fascinated by languages and other cultures. Maybe I should have been a linguist…….? The only thing I’ve never really tried is drawing. I know my limitations and trust me you don’t want to see my scratchings.

Despite what could have been, I am allowing myself to explore my creative side by leaning on my right brain for a while.

In doing so, I find myself completely fascinated by dance. Back in 2007, after watching an episode of SYTYCD, I looked up the nearest Arthur Murray dance studio and signed up for 6months of dance lessons. I’ve continued to salsa dance since then and it continues to bring me hours of pleasure, not to mention a great workout!

So you think you can dance?

Dancing with the stars?

America’s Next Best Dance Crew

Laurieann Gibson’s The Dance Scene

In the last few years, dance has made a major comeback in television and film. I grew up watching the oldies, but the newer ones aren’t bad either.  My favorites include Centerstage, A Chorus line, Beauty & The Beast, The Sound of Music, Victor/Victoria, Singing in the Rain, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, I could go on and on……

Below is a clip of probably the best dance performance I have ever seen! I had never heard of theatrical ballroom until I saw this. In my mind (and sometimes in my house by myself) I think I can do something like this one day.  Until I’m ready for my debut I’ll leave it up to the professionals, Eric Luna and Georgia Ambarian.

Leave a Reply

