The Boys are back in town!

Posted: October 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

There are very few performers that I am willing to spend my hard-earned money on these days. You will never catch me at a Soulja Boy, Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, LMFAO, or Nikki Minaj concert. I’m not hating, I realize there is a market for those performers but it’s just not my thing.

I feel like if you have to do all that extra theatrics, you must not be that confident in your vocals. There is so much going on it becomes sensory overload. I want to spend money to see someone who can do something that I can’t do (i.e. Whitney Houston, Jennifer Hudson, Mariah Carey). I’m not a great singer, but I can hold a note. In today’s industry it’s like if I had a Hollywood team, a track to lip-sync over,  and a multi-million dollar budget I too could be superstar. Just follow the formula. The integrity of the industry has been compromised. So it’s up to people like me to boycott the singing impersonators and support the ‘real deals’.

 Boys2Men is my all time favorite group!  I knew it was coming for months and when it finally came, I couldn’t have been more excited. It was so great to finally see them in person and they delivered all I could have dreamed of and more. There was so much audience interaction, and then to be able to meet them backstage for photos…….ah mios dios! I’m floating on cloud 9. 

Their new album is coming out soon. Make sure you pick up a copy! We have to show the industry that we want more than Miley Cyrus and the rest of those Disney Channel clones that somehow become mainstream artists.

http://www.boyziimen.com/

For a moment I was taken back to the ’90s when life was easy and music was fun! Remember when songs were more than 2:30min long and lyrics more than 3 words repeated over and over and over again?  Remember slow dances, basement parties, and backyard parties? When songs came with dances that you wouldn’t be embarrassed to do in front of your grandparents? Remember the radio before music became angry and vulgar? I do.

Leave a Reply

