Guilty Pleasure

Posted: August 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

Monday Nights are my new favorite TV night (that is until Grey’s Anatomy returns in the fall). I have been enjoying the combination of Basketball Wives, Switched at Birth(which I actually DVR and watch on Tuesdays), and most of all Single Ladies.

Group Shot (L-R) Kassandra Clementi, Stacey Dash, LisaRaye McCoy, and Charity Shea

If you didn’t catch the season finale you missed out! The entire season was really great to watch. It’s nice to see the return of the sitcom to modern television. “Reality t.v.” has over stayed its welcome and I appreciate the return of real actors to television.  With the hiatus until Season 2 of Single Ladies and Switched at Birth begin sometime next year, I will be at a loss until Private Practice and Grey’s Anatomy start in the fall. The musical episode was one of the best things I’ve seen on television and I still have it saved on my DVR.

   

Granted I do watch Jersey Shore, Teen Mom, and Basketball Wives (though I don’t think I can stomach the new L.A. spinoff that’s about to start). But none of these replaces what I feel for the old American classic sitcom or drama. 

I would not care in the least if “Reality t.v.” just went away completely at any moment. I’m disgusted that every young female in America with low self-esteem thinks that all they have to do is make a sex tape, flash a TMZ camera, curse and fight for attention, or get impregnated by an actor or athlete will make them into an overnight celebrity…..DISGUSTED!

I’m also disgusted that every young man in America with no practical life skills thinks that all they have to do is get belligerently drunk, fight, or get into an actor or athlete’s entourage to make them into an overnight celebrity……DISGUSTED!

Though I don’t blame television for the downfall of the American family unit or our once world-renowned work ethic, I don’t think it does much to help the situation. We are constantly bombarded with images of lazy, drunk sluts waiting for a cue from a director to start a fight so they can get paid. Why should young people think they should go to school or find a trade if all they have to do is drop their pants and ride the D-list celebrity gravy train for as long as they can?  The last train stop is Dr.Drew’s Celebrity Rehab! Have you ever seen anyone’s career bounce back after that one?

Leave a Reply

