Snap, Crackle, Pop!

Posted: May 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

In 2008 I visited a Chiropractor for the first time.  Not because I had any specific injury but just because a friend of mine was a chiropractor and offered to give me a free adjustment. I was a little apprehensive because I thought the sound of my bones snapping would freak me out, and I was sure that it had to hurt. Though the sound was kind of creepy, there was no pain. I walked away from that experience feeling taller and leaner than ever. I also found that it helps to release toxins that get trapped in your joints. It’s been a couple of years since my last adjustment and I can tell the difference. In keeping with my yoga practice, I believe that a regular adjustment and massage therapy will be very beneficial to a healthy body. Apparently,it works for animals too!

alternative therapies cartoons, alternative therapies cartoon, alternative therapies picture, alternative therapies pictures, alternative therapies image, alternative therapies images, alternative therapies illustration, alternative therapies illustrations

I have been a long time believer in alternative medicine. Not that I have tried a lot of them(mostly because I am generally in good health), but I believe that Americans are greatly over medicated. The reason pharmaceutical industry is filled with multi-billion dollar corporations is because they have fooled many into believing that anything and everything can be fixed with a pill. You’re sad, take this…You’re fat, take this….You’re a drug addict, give me your pill and take this one instead.

Though I believe there is a time for Western medicine, I believe it is highly over-used. When I was little and had a fever, my grandmother would tie a leaf on my forehead with a scarf. When I woke up the leaf was wilted and my fever was gone. Now say what you will about that example, but there is a lot to be said for natural/home remedies. By pumping our bodies full of drugs we handicap its ability to heal itself. Somewhere along the lines we became soo afraid of feeling any pain that we stopped considering that pain has a purpose. By continuing to mask it you may be unable to detect a real problem. Also after a while your body will be completely depended on the chemicals and forget to heal itself.

              

For more information on the benefits of Chiropractic and other forms of Alternative Medicine, check out the links below.

http://altmedicine.about.com/od/treatmentsremedies/Types_of_Healing_Therapies_from_Acupuncture_to_Yoga.htm

http://www.masschiro.org/FAQ.php

http://www.chiroweb.net/chiropractic/

http://www.answer-my-health-question.info/chiropractic-alternative-medicine.html

****WINNING****

chiropractic-winning-edge

 

Leave a Reply

