Besame Mucho!

Posted: April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

I’m excited to go to my first opera, and very first visit to the Kennedy center to see  my favorite of The 3 Tenors, Mr. Placido Domingo. I fell in love with his voice when I was a little girl watching an episode of the Cosby show. Take a look at this clip and see if you share my sentiments.

http://youtu.be/us6dYBdI_3Y

My cousin and I attended the performance of Iphigene en Tauride last night at the Kennedy Center. I did enjoy my first opera.  I didn’t realize that what we were seeing was going to be so sad and depressing. You really have to get your mind right before you can see things like that. I also believe that opera is probably better served for a weekend activity. It was a lot to take in for a Tuesday night, for a french opera(a language I don’t speak), so we spent a great deal of time reading subtitles.

Placido Domingo didn’t disappoint. And if nothing else, seeing him perform live was worth the time and money. His sidekick, Shawn Mathey, who played Plyade has a very powerful voice as well. The set and costumes were a little weird, but I guess it just adds to the overall dramatic effect of opera. 

Comments
  1. Melinda says:

    I saw Placido Domingo in an opera at the Lincoln Center in NYC in Feb. It was outstanding! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

